Hinnenburg bei Brakel

  • Permanently closed
  • Fortress/Castle
The Hinnenburg is still privately owned today and can therefore only be visited from the outside.
Located to the north of Brakel on a 282 metre high hilltop; first documented in 1237 as the residence of the knight Berthold von Brakel; comes into Asseburg ownership through the female line.

The Hinnenburg with its associated estates fell to Burchard von der Asseburg, who called himself owner and lord of the Hinnenburg in 1280. Since then, the Hinnenburg has remained in the possession of the von der Asseburg family almost without interruption. The extension that can be seen today essentially dates back to the 17th and 18th centuries. Main building Renaissance (Baroque), three storeys, with corner tower to the south. Rich stucco work inside. Famous for the Asseburg archive (not accessible).

The landscape was characterised by the creation of a large baroque garden based on the French model with terraces, ornate borders, water features and tea houses. At the end of the 18th century, the grounds were no longer maintained and quickly fell into disrepair.

Good to know

Openings

  • Permanently closed
  • The Hinnenburg can only be viewed from the outside!

    Price info

    Private property - can only be viewed from the outside.

    Other Furnishing/Equipment

    • cool place

    Payment methods

    no entrance possible

    Directions & Parking facilities

    The Hinnenburg can be reached via forest/hiking trails.

    More information

    The Hinnenburg is inhabited and can only be visited from the outside.

    Contact person

    License (master data)

    License: Attribution, ShareAlike
    The lively half-timbered town
    Tip

    Höxter at the Weser

    © ©Teutoburger Wald / Stadt Höxter / D. Ketz, Dominik Ketz
    Excursions in the Mühlenkreis
    Tip

    What wonderful sights!

    © Teutoburger Wald Tourismus, D. Ketz
    Historic city at the Weser
    Tip

    Discover Minden!

    © Teutoburger Wald Tourismus / J. Motzny
    © Teutoburger Wald Tourismus / P. Koetters

    Photo Gallery