Haus Voss Johanniskirchhof 2

  • Temporary closed
  • Currently closed
  • Historic site
  • Tourist attractions – various

Haus Voss - Johanniskirchhof

The stately house was built in 1561 as the curia building of St John's Abbey.



During renovation work in 1989/1990, the surrounding walls of the building with a quarrystone plinth and timber-framed upper floor were preserved.

A verse by the Greek poet Hesiod is carved into the sill beam in Latin on the shop front facing the churchyard (Above all, seek to gain a house, a mate and a draught animal. Everything the Lord gives, therefore he has no less).

In 1893, the locksmith Julius Voss took over the house and converted it into a business. The front door with rich wrought ironwork in Renaissance style dates from this time.

Good to know

Openings

  • Currently closed
  • Not known

    Price info

    Not known

    Eligibility

    • Suitable for any weather

    • for families

    • for individual guests

    • Suitable for the Elderly

    Payment methods

    no entrance possible

    Directions & Parking facilities

    Haus Voss is located on the Johanniskirchhof. There are several bus connections in the surrounding area (e.g. line 1, 501 / 502)

    Contact person

    Minden Marketing GmbH
    Company
    Domstr. 2
    32423 Minden

    License (master data)

    Minden Marketing GmbH
    License: Attribution, ShareAlike
    The lively half-timbered town
    Tip

    Höxter at the Weser

    © ©Teutoburger Wald / Stadt Höxter / D. Ketz, Dominik Ketz
    Excursions in the Mühlenkreis
    Tip

    What wonderful sights!

    © Teutoburger Wald Tourismus, D. Ketz
    Historic city at the Weser
    Tip

    Discover Minden!

    © Teutoburger Wald Tourismus / J. Motzny
    © Teutoburger Wald Tourismus / P. Koetters

    Photo Gallery